.

Letter: Kosel's Position on Kensington Police a "Lie"

Kensington resident Vida Dorroh says a past letter by Cathie Kosel, who's running for re-election to the Kensington Police Protection and Community Services District board, contradicts her position on the police department.


To the Editor:

Contra to Dr. Leonard Schwatzburd's recent letter to the Patch, and Catherine Kosel's assertion at last Thursday's meeting of the Kensington Police Protection and Community Services District, Ms. Kosel has, in fact, advocated that Kensington should contract out for police services.  In a 1996 letter to KPPCSD President David Fike, a copy of which is attached, she advocated that Kensington look at "contracting out for all our services, not just fire."

Apparently Ms. Kosel is a follower of the theory that when caught out in a lie, if you just repeat it more loudly people won't notice.

Catherine, Catherine, Catherine, your act is wearing thin!

– Vida Dorroh
   Kensington

-------------------------------

El Cerrito Patch welcomes Letters to the Editor of up to 450 words from readers. Send them to elcerrito@patch.com. You can see past Letters to the Editor here

Rodney Paul October 16, 2012 at 02:33 PM
Cathie Kosel derides the KPD at every opportunity -- there's no denying that. In her letter, she says that in 2011 "no cases were solved." But in their statistics, the KPD does not have a category for "solved." They track crimes and arrests, and in 2011 they made plenty of arrests. Talking about this in terms of cases solved is a trick she uses to run them down. Kosel's argues that the KPD is poorly run and crime in Kensington is spiraling out of control as a result. But Kensingtonians need only to look around them to see that this is untrue. How can a person with such an ax to grind be appropriate for the KPPCSD Board? A vote for Chuck Toombs and Pat Gillette will result in a Board that oversees a well-run, independent police department.
Leonard Schwartzburd, Ph.D. October 16, 2012 at 07:09 PM
Well, well-Here it comes the vitriol of cliquenicks reaching deep into their bag of dirty tricks to smear Cathie who has been lighting up the dirty not so little secrets about what has been going on in Kensington for too long. Vida 1996? 17 years is reaching pretty deep, ignoring what is real at the same time. And Rodney, I have given up on wanting to think you are a person of honest good will. "spiraling out of control" Rodney? Rather than apologizing after learning that your letter was innacurate you again peddle distortions. Maybe the price you pay for membership in the pernicious Kensington power clique. If you and they think you can spew your hateful distortions and lies and not get called on it, think again. You Rodney are reminding me of Joel Koosed and his management of the Outlook in your relationship to the clique. You and the other peddlers must be running scared, and that in spite of all the money being spent to try to shut up and get rid of Cathie and the truth--Well you might win this election and you might not, but in any case the truth will not go away. And by the way, Harman violated the Board's Policies and Proceedures at the last meeting in attacking Cathie with the same sort of distortions and falsities ending with a scatological explicative. Cathie bravely stood up and responded to the misrepresentations in the face of the circus put on by the clique when Toombs did nothing to enforce the policies of the Board as Harman violated them.
Vida Dorroh October 16, 2012 at 09:28 PM
Anna Shane: First: There was no El Cerrito "bid" received by the Board President. An independent consultant, Brown Taylor, worked with El Cerrito and the KPPCSD Board to evaluate the cost of outsourcing police services versus retaining an independent police department. The consultant's conclusion was to stay independent because supposed cost savings were in fact illusory or marginal, and there would be up front transition costs of half a Million Dollars. There is an extensive report in the KPPCSD Board minutes. You could look it up instead of repeating mischaracterizations. Second: In 1996 when that letter was written Ms. Kosel had no official position in El Cerrito or Kensington and was not "representing" any citizens in any official capacity. I submitted the letter to the Patch because at last Thursday's KPPCSD Board meeting Ms. Kosel stated that she had "never" advocated outsourcing the police department, and the letter clearly contradicts that assertion. Dr. Schwartzburd: Whom do you imagine you are persuading of the correctness of your viewpoint when you use language like "you can spew your hateful distortions and lies . . .? This is a political contest, not an intervention in an emotional crisis.
Leonard Schwartzburd, Ph.D. October 16, 2012 at 10:57 PM
Vida, My expectation/hope that others will have an open mind to the pattern of reprehensible behavior you and the clique have displayed, exemplified by your hateful distortion in the video I have seen of you attacking Cathie at a Board meeting, shaking a 17 year old piece of paper at her that as Anna has pointed out has no relevance to the issue; well, my expectation/hope does not include you and your companions who have been attacking Cathie. And Toombs failed in his duty to restrain you just as he failed to restrain Harman and others in the clique over time. Under Toombs it has been a kangaroo Board that is sucking the tax payers dry. As I said to Toombs face when he attacked Cathie, banging his gavel like he was driving in nails that didn't want to be driven, and leaning towards her with an ugly expression and shouting at her to shut up, I objected to his bullying. I understand that the Brown Taylor research took place at the initiation of the clique including Toombs. Though I am obviously mad as hell about this conduct, you are right this is not an emotional crisis, it is a political/fiscal/ethical crisis. And you dare to use the word "lie" refering to Cathie. I'm mad as hell. Who's next?
Quinn Vincente October 17, 2012 at 01:55 PM
As President Washington said, "Guard against the impostures of pretended patriotism." Cathie Kosel's reign of slandering falsehood will soon come to an end! Cathie Kosel is nothing more than a schoolyard bully, using tactful manipulation in the City of Kensington. Watch her political bullying against Police Chief Harman: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dSvITTaNV8w http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MGWP7GNiOZg
Local Parent October 19, 2012 at 07:55 PM
Thank you Cathie and Mari for taking the initiative to ask pointed and direct questions...and not being satisfied by the notion of "that's just the way things are". I would like to hear an explanation from Chuck Toombs about breaking procedure and rules when he allowed a continuation of a KPPCSD meeting without the proper votes to do so. He seems to have a bit of a 'what's good for the goose is not necessarily good for the gander' attitude. As has been noted elsewhere here on the Patch, many Kensington residents have the impression that the Chief of Police is indeed his own boss, be it true or not. The nefarious allegations against Cathie appear to be intimidation at it's very best. I will happily cast my votes for Cathie Kosel and Kim Zvick!
Leonard Schwartzburd, Ph.D. November 04, 2012 at 10:54 PM
This is the Joel Koosed, the Outlook editor, (better named the “Overlooked”) the propaganda organ of the Kensington Clique, of which Vida Dorroh is a prominent member, and where they give "truth" a bad name. I appreciate how discriminating your services are Mr. Koosed. His photo is on the web site. Joel Koosed “ Founded San Francisco Roommate Referral Service, Avenue Ballroom, Kicks Magazine, and The Meeting Game® Salon. Editor: Kensington Outlook ” Interested in new Meetup Groups about Drummer, dating, Dating and Relationships, Make New Friends, from all Walks of Life, The Over 40 Gang, Speed Dating, Meeting New People, Dating Women, Divorced, Widowed, Never Married, Singles, Single Professionals looking to Meet other Singles, Professional Singles, Single Parents, Hiking, Social Networking, Writers, Artists & Musicians, Creative Circle, creating a creative community, East Bay International Creative Community, East Bay Creative Community, Dinner Party, Singers & Songwriters, Performing Musicians, Dance, Drum Circle, Drumming, Recreational Drumming, Open Relationships, Polyamory, Alternative Lifestyles, Socializing with other Singles over 50., Show less... Albany, CA Sept 2012 http://www.meetup.com/members/6449445/
kensickton November 04, 2012 at 11:05 PM
Relevance? Yawn. Other than being mean.
Leonard Schwartzburd, Ph.D. November 04, 2012 at 11:30 PM
Think Ken, think.
Gayle Tapscott November 05, 2012 at 12:59 AM
Local Parent, you wont hear an explanation from Chuck Toombs or his supporters about breaking procedure and rules, mainly because when you try to tell what is believed to be the truth by many citizens, you get insulted and ridiculed. Opinions are not respected by this group of Patch responders. The last time I said that I didn't feel that I needed to defend the Chief because I felt he didn't do anything wrong. The reply I got was...why not?,.. I defend Cathy and she did nothing wrong so Anne said, come on, give it a try. Cathy defenders don't respect another opinions or that someone might have a different opinion. If you don't agree with them, then you must be a bought and sold. Who wants their opinions to be characterized like they don't have a working brain that can analyze what they see and hear.
Gayle Tapscott November 05, 2012 at 03:32 AM
Ann says, "You don't have to defend him but silence in English law means agreement." So let me see if I understand this statement. If someone walks up to me or writes a note to me that calls me a bad name, let's just say the "n" word since I'm Black, and I am silent and don't respond; are you saying I agree that I am a "n"?
Cathie Kosel November 05, 2012 at 04:25 AM
Vida, you have a reading comprehension problem.
Cathie Kosel November 05, 2012 at 05:13 AM
Vida Dorroh wants independence as we all do, but she seems willing to trade truth, transparency and accountability for it. And she is apparently willing to bully and lie her way to get it when she doesn't have to. We can have independence and truth and accountability and transparency and professionalism at the same time. We can have it all, Vida. Why do you want to give up basic democratic principles when you don't have to?
Deanna Collis November 05, 2012 at 04:33 PM
In 2011 our police department made 2 (two) arrests. Doesn't sound like plenty to me. If they did have a category for solved crimes it would say zero. Clearance rates are about an arrest being made for a reported crime. Out of the 4 assaults (FBI data given by the chief) that happened in Kensington only 2 show an arrest. No other arrests were made for the 71 or 90 (hard to say from the report) crimes reported in 2011.
LONG TIME RESIDENT November 05, 2012 at 04:37 PM
Dear Quinn: Please consider the post at http://elcerrito.patch.com/articles/view-the-kensington-election-does-it-matter. And also the post at http://elcerrito.patch.com/articles/view-kensington-board-s-failure-to-disclose-information Thank you.
LONG TIME RESIDENT November 05, 2012 at 04:38 PM
Dear Vida:Please consider the post at http://elcerrito.patch.com/articles/view-the-kensington-election-does-it-matter. And also the post at http://elcerrito.patch.com/articles/view-kensington-board-s-failure-to-disclose-information Thank you.
Eyleen Nadolny November 05, 2012 at 06:23 PM
I've read Cathie's 1996 letter to David Fike and it certainly does not "advocate" outsourcing the police department. It merely suggests studying the possibility. To assert otherwise is a gross distortion of the facts.
Leonard Schwartzburd, Ph.D. November 06, 2012 at 12:49 AM
Gayle, your logic is good. The thing is that Anna was referring to a different context so the meanings change. I believe that as she cites English law that it refers to a formal charge that is not answered. So if someone made a formal charge aqainst you that you are a N***** then we refer to that person as an A** H***. I learned that when I was a CORE sit in in 1963. But I wouldn't care if the charge was formal or not I would tell that person to their face that they are an A** H***. Leonard

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »