.

Letter: DA Findings Show Kosel Shouldn't Be Re-elected

A District Attorney's investigation showed that Cathie Kosel, seeking re-election to Kensington's governing board, made "despicable" false criminal claims and should be voted out, says a letter to the editor from Rodney Paul.

To the Editor:

A Patch article last Wednesday detailed a finding by the Contra Costa County District Attorney that false criminal charges were made by Cathie Kosel against the Kensington Police Chief and one of his officers.

The Kensington Police Protection and Community Services District (KPPCSD) Director alleged that Sgt. Ricky Hull aimed his car at her at a high rate of speed in an attempt to harm or intimidate her. But the DA investigation showed that this incident could not have happened. Department logs showed that Officer Hull was elsewhere responding to a call at the time. Readers should review the article for full details and supporting documents.

What could be more despicable than making false criminal claims, particularly against members of the KPD? The DA report establishes Kosel telling a very serious lie, one which if believed could have had significant consequences for KPD employees, including the loss of their livelihoods.

Kosel is currently running for re-election to the KPPCSD, the agency that oversees the KPD. These false allegations are among a body of evidence that demonstrate her very poor relationship with the Department. It astonishes me that anyone would support her given these circumstances.

Kosel claims that her goal on KPPCSD is to save taxpayers money. But think about the time required to investigate these false charges and the legal expenses incurred by the KPPCSD and impacted police personnel. This entire matter has been a colossal waste of time and money, motivated by Kosel’s desire to discredit the KPD by any means available.

Kensington voters should hold Kosel accountable for these and other instances of misconduct by voting her out of office on Nov. 6. Our police officers put their lives on the line for our protection. Let’s ensure a fair and responsible KPPCSD Board oversees the KPD.

– Rodney Paul
   Kensington

-------------------------------------

El Cerrito Patch welcomes Letters to the Editor of up to 450 words from readers. Send them to elcerrito@patch.com. You can see past Letters to the Editor here.

John Brorsen October 24, 2012 at 03:48 PM
Well reasoned and makes sense. We should be working with our public employees, not going after them on a constant basis. We need level headed policy by our elected officials. I am voting for Chuck T. and Pat G. Hopefully we can get this town back on track w/o all the vitriol aimed at the PD.
anna shane October 25, 2012 at 12:57 AM
would, if it were true. Actually the DA was upset that the majority board has failed to write spending rules for our police department, there are no accusations against Cathy. It's the season to make stuff up? Cathy can back all her facts up, just wait until you get her next flier (wow, what truth). best, and good luck with your obvious lies...
anna shane October 25, 2012 at 01:05 AM
let's not go through this again? here is a long-enough blog with all the hate and all the reason in one place: http://elcerrito.patch.com/articles/da-clears-kensington-police-chief-and-sergeant#comment_5147223 No findings at all, no exoneration of our police chief or of our remaining officers, only no way to press charges, says the DA. So-called witnesses on the police force, no action for over a month, just no way to prove he did or he didn't, it was a he says she says, and he got some of his friends to cover for him? Anyone surprised? Cathie's brother is a war hero and a retired judge, and he recommended Cathie put something on record, even though it would be unlikely to stick, and she'd be sticking her neck out, to protect her in the future, and all of us, actually. I thank her for making a citizen complaint.
Rodney Paul October 25, 2012 at 01:34 AM
I focus on the false accusations against Sgt. Hull because that is the most shocking. The DA letter makes it clear that this incident simply did not occur. The voters will decide if Cathie Kosel's behavior is acceptable in an elected official. I am confident they will believe, as I do, that making false criminal accusations goes way beyond the pale and cannot be tolerated. Her apologists will defend anything she does in her efforts to bring our police department down. But using criminal complaints as a political tool is deeply unethical and discredits all she has said and done. Let us unite in condemning this nefarious practice. While the Patch article is spot on, the actual letter from the DA is attached to it and you can read their finding that the allegations Kosel made are baseless. See for yourself and draw your own conclusions. I do not know Sgt. Hull personally but have heard much about him from other residents. His reputation is impeccable, and I believe we are very lucky to have him on the KPD. In the Patch article, Kosel also accuses Officer Doug Wilson of lying. She clearly owes them and the Chief a full apology for her dishonesty.
Leonard Schwartzburd, Ph.D. October 25, 2012 at 01:43 AM
Rodney, I am so very disappointed in you as. A person. I understand that people can hold different perspectives, but the distortions you create are serious enough to be considerd what you accuse Cathie of, that is lying. I have to ask what leads you to join forces with those who have been slandering her. Rodney I think you have political ambitions in supporting the clique that has its own share of prevaricators. Power hunger lives among you.
Cathie Kosel October 25, 2012 at 01:49 AM
Rodney, a few days ago you sent out this announcement: "Fellow neighbors: Just a reminder that the voter registration deadline is tomorrow, Oct. 15. If you're not registered, you will not be able to vote in this important election." You were not accurate. October 22, 2012,was the last day to register to be eligible to vote in the November 6, 2012, General Election. There is nothing accurate about your rendition of Sgt. Hull racing at me with his patrol car either. In fact you do not have any of the facts of this incident and your contention that Hull was anywhere else but 8 feet from me in his patrol car indicates a big problem with your reading comprehension. Take another read of the DA's letter and then stick to writing about what you know, please.
Mary October 26, 2012 at 04:22 AM
I have really read enough of the sideline observations on this topic of “did he - did she…” information from one or two unhappy sources. I would rather ask, what are the important reasons for voting the way we want our KPPCSD board to support our needs and views. Do we want to know the way our recently increased taxes are spent; do we want to know how our police department is organized efficiently / effectively; and can we get information on their activities through this EC/K Patch Site like the El Cerrito PD does?
Adam Henry October 27, 2012 at 04:31 PM
The DA letter contains language that is ambiguous at best. "Further, the documented calls for service and dispatch recordings and logs corroborate that Kensington Police Protection and Community Services District offlcers were involved in another case at or near the time of alleged incident." All this says is that they were INVOLVED in another case. They could have been at the scene of another case, in which case Cathie is an outright liar, or they could have been RESPONDING to another call, in which case Cathie could have mistaken a hasty u-turn as a personal threat. Anyone can turn this into something that fits their version of events. The DA's office says they have reviewed the dispatch logs and tapes, and they should therefore know the exact circumstances, but they decided for whatever reason to exclude that information from the letter. This does not point to any wrongdoing by the DA, so don't go there. The DA's letter is vague, whether intentionally or otherwise. Nothing in the letter from the DA firmly supports anyone's story. Quit leaning on it as fact. Both of you.
anna shane October 27, 2012 at 05:50 PM
The ambiguity did not stop police chief Harman from using her original report and the DA's letter to name her a “malicious liar” in newspaper article, nor stop Chuck from claiming the DA letter had "exonerated' Harman (he says he's a lawyer?). In the CCT Harman states without any evident doubt that if Kosel is reelected he'll lose his job - and he probably believes it because the Kensington Police Officer's Association donated nearly $1,000 to Toombs and Gillette. (remember that big stink over something that it turned out Kosel hadn't done - she was accused of favoring negotiation with our garbage company (along with 97 percent of residents) because of a donation to her long past El Cerrito mayor campaign (she served two terms) that didn't actually come from our garbage company, and was less than what the El Cerrito garbage company had donated to her opponents?) In this case the Kensington Police Officer's Association donated only to Chuck and Pat. Someone is trying to put their thumb on the scale and tell us who to vote for, and as far as I can see the Chuck/Pat entire platform is protecting Harman from any oversight and calling Kosel names. (It surely isn't explaining why our budget is again in trouble, why the paths project isn’t funded, why there's $300,000 in unexplained legal costs for 2011.) Pat wrote in the last Outlook that the Kensington Democratic Party isn't legitimate because they endorsed Kosel and Hausken (weird?) That's what they've got.
Cathy Travlos October 27, 2012 at 07:36 PM
The issue with the "Kensington Democratic Club" is not who they chose to endorse; it's their secrecy. As a life-long Kensington resident and a registered Democrat, I would have been interested in this group. There has been no publicity, no meeting notices, nothing. Given that only 13 Kensington Democrats even knew about their meeting, their endorsement seems meaningless.
anna shane October 27, 2012 at 11:23 PM
you can still be interested in it, Pat and Chuck were invited, they could have told you? It isn't a secret club, I didn't hear right away either, but when I heard I asked to join, and I was told yes. Any registered Democrat can join. So, you have an issue with not being informed, and Pat thinks it's a bogus group set up to endorse Cathie and Jim, at least you're not on the same page. I thought she was rude to refuse to join, and then claim it isn't a real group.
Cathy Travlos October 28, 2012 at 02:27 AM
Actually, Anna, it certainly seems to be bogus. Yes, it apparently has a charter from the CA Democrats but without any kind of open meeting, what else could it be? The first I heard about it was AFTER the EC Democrats had overwhelming endorsed Toombs and Gilette. There was never a notice in the Outlook or in the EC Patch. I never saw a flyer anywhere in Kensington. Even the Kensington Democrats FB page (which apparently is its only public face) doesn't have any meeting notices. The meeting where candidates were endorsed was apparently by invitation only - certainly not open to all Democrats who live in Kensington.
Andrew Reed October 28, 2012 at 05:06 AM
Yes, I concur with Cathy, the underhanded way this new Kensington club was established speaks volumes about the Kosel - Hauskens slate and their supporters. They could not get endorsements from the traditional, well established organizations that Kensingtonians have worked with for decades so they started a club of their own. Then they endorsed their ticket with all of 13 attendees, including the candidates themselves. And these people position themselves as the bringers of transparency... They are not the solution. They are the problem.
anna shane October 28, 2012 at 05:56 AM
do either of you have any idea what you sound like? OMG, for real?
Rodney Paul October 29, 2012 at 08:19 PM
The new edition of the Kensington Outlook establishes Kosel's use of the Bay View postage meter to send her mailer. Go to http://www.kensingtonoutlook.com/issues/outlook_nov_12.pdf and see Page 9. The use of Bay View resources is a clear conflict of interest since they are involved in litigation against KPPCSD. This may also violate campaign finance laws. For all but the True Believers, this is clear evidence she is unsuited to a 2nd term.
LONG TIME RESIDENT October 31, 2012 at 11:16 PM
Contra Costa Times editorial: Kosel and Hausken for Kensington District Contra Costa Times editorial © Copyright 2012, Bay Area News Group Posted: 10/30/2012 02:31:55 PM PDT "It's mind-boggling how governance of the highly educated little community of Kensington has become so dysfunctional. ..This community needs leaders who value openness and fiscal discipline. Currently, public information is withheld and the board has failed to control employee benefit costs… meeting minutes reveal the systemic secrecy. ..The actual (police chief's) contract was drawn up after the meeting and signed by the board president, Charles Toombs, before the public had a chance to see it. Amazingly, Toombs insists he's running an open government. But he confuses letting people speak at meetings with providing them public information to which they're entitled. His attitude is part of the problem. He doesn't deserve another term. ...We hope this election leads to real change."

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something